We Make Plans and God Laughs

Last night while watching an episode of Private Practice, one of the characters said “We make plans and God laughs.” My immediate thought was “Ha…isn’ that true.”

I used to think that by this age, I would have everything all figured out, you know…all my ducks in a row, ready to take on my life, whatever may come my way. I guess God had a different plan for me though.

They say, and I still haven’t figured out who they are, but they say that our lives are planned for us, even before we are born.  Each person born has a purpose on this earth, their legacy to pass on to others born. I’ve often wondered what my purpose is, or even the purpose of the events that have  happened to me in my lifetime. I know that with everything that has happened, there is always a lesson for me to learn, but sometimes I wonder…how many lessons can one person possibly learn?

That’s when it dawned on me. Until I have learned the lesson that I’m supposed to learn, obstacles will continue to be put infront of me. It’s all part of God’s plan for me. I can’t mess with that plan, I have no idea what is in store for me, but it took me a long time to figure out that where I am is where I’m supposed to be.  I will always continue to try to improve my situation, but isn’t that all part of the lesson, all part of the plan?

Life isn’t meant to be easy, it’s meant to be lived with obstacles, lessons and plans that are meant to be uncovered.  You’ll know when you’re on the right track to your plan…you’ll have that gut feeling…you’ll just be in the right place at the right time and when it happens you’ll have the courage to be who you are.

I know that I am where I’m supposed to be and I’m learning what I have to learn to be the person that I want to be, that I’m meant to be.  I still haven’t quite figured  it all out, but when the time is right I’ll know.

About Lisa

I have recently realized that my purpose in life to help people and the best way that I can help is to disclose what I've learned over the years and hope that it helps people to realize thier true potential in life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to We Make Plans and God Laughs

  1. I agree with you, Lisa. I don’t expect that any of us will ever “have it all figured out.” We humans are far too limited for that. But we just have to do the best we can with our limited, but in many ways quite wonderful, capabilities.

    I love Robin Norwood’s perspective in her book “Why Me? Why This? Why Now?” She says we exercise the greatest free will between lifetimes, when we decide on the overall circumstances of our lives (our parents, family situation, etc.), which we choose to optimize our soul growth in this particular lifetime. Once the overall circumstances is decided, we don’t have a whole lot of choice about it once we are born. But we do have quite a lot of choice about how we respond to the events that happen to us.

    Somehow, knowing that we chose the outline of our lives is comforting … rather than lead to blame, we can relax and know that whatever is happening, even if it is troublesome, is for our ultimate good.

    You’ve demonstrated beautiful responses to the events of your life, and your writing (which is also beautiful!) is undoubtedly (and will continue to be) inspiring to many others.

    Complimenti!

  2. lizdroz says:

    I like what you write. I started writing about the same topic and only found your blog today. It can give me comfort to blame others or believe all is lost (I know, weird to say ‘comfort’) but I know that is not what I should do. I look to Job, David and other leaders in the Bible who encountered change and losses. Hope your travels take you to that path meant for you.
    Best regards and happy travels.

  3. Pingback: Handling disruption — how do they do it? | Disruptions

Leave a Reply

